The Montgomery County Council building.

The Montgomery County Council building.

During election season, voters – and sometimes candidates – argue that we should have stricter term limits for public office holders. While our national legislature is not term-limited like the presidency, one hyper-local legislature is. The Prince George’s County Council is the only local council in the Washington region that limits its members to two four-year terms. And now, Montgomery County is considering a ballot measure that would restrict its members to three four-year terms, a proposal that could cause significant turnover on the county council.


  • David Harrington President and CEO, Prince George's County Chamber of Commerce; Former Member, Prince George's County Council; Former Mayor, Bladensburg, Maryland
  • Christopher Warshaw Assistant Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Political Science

LISTEN: Term Limit Leader Robin Ficker

READ: Term Limit Opponent Tom Moore On Montgomery County Council Proposal

Topics + Tags


comments powered by Disqus
Most Recent Shows